Users Today : 114
This Month : 2006
This Year : 65059
Total Users : 197752
Views Today : 660
Total views : 917893
Your IP Address :
Server Time : 2023-06-05

SDC Spearheads English Week Celebration

SDC/English Club Officers Inducted

The Speech and Drama Club (SDC) of Aldersgate College spearheaded the celebration of the English Week on August 25-26, 2010 at the EZE Rooftop.

Premised on the theme: “Speech and Stage Arts: Bulwark for Filipinism and Universalism”, the affair commenced with the induction of SDC and English Club Officers by Mrs. Cecilia B. Valdez, CPA, MSBA, the Dean of the School of Business and Accountancy who was also the Keynote Speaker. In her speech she emphasized the importance of learning the English language not only for the individual’s local and domestic pursuits but for global affairs as well. She likewise cautioned the audience not to forget altogether their national language but use it together with the foreign language.

The first day activities featured competitions on impromptu and Extemporaneous Speech, Poem Recitation, Storytelling, Spelling Bee and Videoke Singing Contest, and the Group Stage Arts Contest. While the activities on the second day included the Elocution Contest, the Tourism Quiz Bee and the Super Quiz Bee.

The installed officers of the Speech and Drama Club are: Shiena Baddongon, President; Fernando Pili, Jr. Vice President; Rosiel Cacal, Secretary; Julius Trinidad, Treasurer; Juvilyn Andres, Auditor; April Joy Alcantara, PIO; Henrich Rebualos and Wennie Alagano, Business Managers; Jad Ian Aquino and Mary Ann Vidad, Marshalls; Louie Leodivico, CASE representative; Jezrael Domingo and Marylene Rapada, CET representatives; Charmaine Pimentel, SBA  representative; Virgil Anquiliano, SIHM representative, Samuel Colminar and EleenManalese , SMS representatives and Efren Capsula, SC Representative. Lady Ann Manuyag is elected as muse while Efren Capsula was the escort.

To work hand in hand are the SDC and the English Club officers culled from the elected officers of all English Classes: President, Liezel Flojo; Vice President, Christian Capili; Secretary, Allen Costales; Treasurer, Michelle Molina; Auditor, Vincent Valenzuela; PIO, Oliver Aliac; Bus. Managers, AnalynTalledo and Alyza Gonzalez; Marshalls, Christopher Cabanting and Baldwin Rosena; Departmental Representatives, Sheryl Salimbay, CASE; Pepito de Palma and Jayjay Bayudang, CET; Rowena Tabil, SC; Lee Jem Ramos, SBA; Sheryl Parocha, SIHM; Ana Suarnaba and Imee Fabro, SMS; Muse, Marivic Matias; and Escort, Richard Concepcion.

Winners of the different contest were:
Impromptu Speech
1st – Fernando Pili Jr. (CASE)
2nd – Efren Capsula (SC)
3rd – Hillarie Parungao (SMS)
4th – Liezel Flojo (SBA)
xtemporaneous Speech
1st – Hillarie Parungao (SMS)
2nd – Diana Danguilan (CASE)
3rd – Efren Capsula (SC)
4th – Allen Costales
Poem Recitation
1st – Roel Costales (SBA)
2nd – Meilyn Rapada (CET)
3rd – Nina Gambo(CASE
4th – Larjen Pacursa (SMS)
Story Telling
1st – Denise Danguilan
2nd – Fernando Pili, Jr. (CASE)
3rd – Aireen Palecpec (SBA)
4th – Theresa De Aro (SC)
1st – Larjen Pacursa (SMS)
2nd – Rheanel Esquejo (CASE)
Spelling Bee
1st – Lee Jem Ramos (SBA)
2nd – Angela Mendiguarin (SBA)
3rd – Mitch Sanico – (CASE)
Birit King
Jezrael Domingo (CET)
Birit Queen
Jearen Ramel (SMS)
Tourism Quiz Bee
1st – Bernabe Pedro Cunanan (SBA)
2nd – Rheanel Esquejo (CASE)
3rd – Junard Umaweng (CET)
4th – Mikel Bainto (CASE)
5th – Krizza Alcantara
National Super Quiz Bee
1st – Rheanel Esquejo (CASE)
2nd – Reynabel Castro (CASE)
3rd– Lee Jem Ramos (SBA)
4th – Jay Caramat (CET)
5th – Devi Dupitas (SBA)

The judges of the Stage Arts Competition were Mrs. Patricia Ortiz and Mr. Rommel Alejos while the rest of the contests were judged by the SDC advisers: Mrs. Rizalyn Esquivel, Mrs. Debora Sampaga, Mrs. Marissa Taguinod, Mr. Aurelio Polonio, Mr. Alexis Dumelod and Mr. Jonathan Palitayan, Jr. Mrs. Rosalie R. Valdez, the CASE Dean graced the occasion and handed the awards and prizes to the winners with the assistance of Mr. Nick Rojas, Student Affairs Committee Adviser and Mr. Jenifer Raymond Tallungan, Dean of Student Affairs. Mr. Benjamin C. Dulatre was the over-all Coordinator and Director of the SDC and English Club.