Users Today : 105
This Month : 1997
This Year : 65050
Total Users : 197743
Views Today : 599
Total views : 917832
Your IP Address :
Server Time : 2023-06-05

AC pegs 18 awards in RHEPC

The AC Victors! (from left) Remanel Esquejo, Rheanel Esquejo, Imee Mariela Fabro, Mark Loi Yarcia, Fernando Pili Jr., Marcos Manzano and Genesis Pojas

Proving mettle in the field of journalism, five student scribes from Aldersgate College romped off with eight individual and ten group awards during the Regional Higher Education Press Conference (RHEPC) held at Kimikarlai Hotel, Tuguegarao City, on December 9-11, 2010.

The AC delegates who shone in the above stated regional tilt bagged the following awards: First Place, News Writing (Eng)- IMEE MARIELA FABRO, BSN III;  Second Place, Feature Writing (Eng) and Fifth Place, DevCom Writing (Eng)- RHEANEL ESQUEJO, BSED IV; Third Place- Photojournalism (Eng)- MARK LOI YARCIA, BSN III; Third Place- Feature Writing (Fil) and Fourth Place- Poetry Writing (Fil)- FERNANDO PILI JR., BSED III;  Fourth Place- Graphic Arts (Fil) and Fourth Place- Comic Strip Drawing (Fil)- GENESIS POJAS, BSIT III. Other regional finalists were REMANEL ESQUEJO, BSIT III, and MARCOS MANZANO, BSEE II.

The five AC scribes qualify for the Luzonwide Higher Education Press Conference to be held in Baguio City sometime in February. It is in this prestigious event that other ACians emerged like Katherine Maddela, Jonathan Biwit and Jose Morgan Reyes in 2003; Jeremy Lloyd Lelina and Jose Morgan Reyes in 2005; Bobby Nadiahan in 2006; Esdras Tulingan in 2008 and 2009; and Mark Loi Yarcia and Gideon Arzadon in 2010.

Meanwhile, AC likewise overwhelmed other universities and colleges of the region by bringing home the following Group Awards: PARAGON Broadsheet- 2nd place, OVERALL; First Place- DevCom Page;   Second Place- Literary-Feature Page; Second Place- News Page;  Third Place- Editorial Page; Third Place- Sports Page; and Fourth Place- Page Design. The PARAGON Folio ranked 5th place overall and one among the winners in Cover Design.

Because of these achievements, AC was hailed by RHEPC among the TOP TEN schools in the region in the field of Journalism. The school has already marked a name as it is perennially recognized among the best schools in this regional level competition.

Mr. Jenifer Raymond R. Tallungan, the PARAGON MODERATOR, served as the Coach of the AC delegation, as well as one of the facilitators of the RHEPC, being the elected Press Relations Officer for Broadcast.#